Celebrating God's great design for marriage!
Cart 0

The 5 Love Languages: Acts of Service

Emily Norris love-languages

For many of us, servanthood comes easy. We find joy in cooking for others, raking leaves and hosting parties. We are the first one to volunteer, stay late to clean up, and take on nursery duty. For others of us, we haven’t got a clue. Maybe we don’t have the time or energy to serve others, not even our spouse.

Acts of service is doing things you know your spouse would like you to do. You seek to please by serving, to express your love by doing things for your spouse.

Examples of Acts of Service:

  • Unloading the dishwasher
  • Changing the cat’s litter box
  • Vacuuming
  • Paying the bills
  • Dealing with landlords and insurance companies

All of these acts require thought and planning. Those whose love language is act of service appreciate when you go out of your way to do something that needs to be done.

Many times, frustration and anger come into play when we make demands instead of requests. It is also important you are specific with what you need help with. Your spouse may want to help out around the house, but may not know where to start. You can jot down a list of things you need/want done.

Practical Tips:

  • Have your spouse make a list of 10 things he/she would like you to do. Spend a month doing all of these things.
  • If your spouse is the cook, do the dishes.
  • Pick a room at home to do a major clean-up/organization. Post a note on the door: “To (Name) with love”

Older Post Newer Post